If the person has three parts – body, mind, and heart – and fictional characters personify each part, such that Ron is the body, Hermione is the mind, and Harry is the heart, for example, and proper functioning is for them to be in the proper order, which John Granger says is illustrated by a snowman, the bottom big ball is the body, the middle the mind, and the top the heart, so that the heart is in charge of the other two, and most of us are walking around upside down, are there meant to be people whose parts are disproportionately sized, even if properly ordered?

I had to leave before the Q&A yesterday, most unfortunately. I came up with that question after a few hours of stewing anyway. The questions I had during the talk were, why does British literature seem better, and, if literature is more real than reality because it is more ordered than reality seems, then how is reality not real?

Back to the first. If the snowman is disproportionately sized, does it indicate overfeeding of different parts, or are there genetics involved? Athletes of different disciplines have more uniform shapes. Is that just because of their training and sport picking? It seems there will be less variation if a person is in shape. Overweight exaggerates sizes. I also think there are natural inclinations. Whether they are from nature or are nurtured from an early age is another question. Again see Myers-Briggs. And there are compensatory mechanisms, or collateral circulation in the presence of damage.

In some ways I think I am a predominant heart that, in a melodramatic way, is broken and dysfunctional. My INTJ mind has to step in and take care of it. Or, my mind is the parent and my heart is a kindergartner with a post-mature Oedipal complex [edit: I just read this. I had a faulty memory of the Oedipal complex, which I thought was a general desire in a 5 year old to marry the opposite sex parent. I believe it is mostly emotional, not sexual in nature. I just read of an Electra complex, though more apt in this application, is also too Freudian for me. I’ll not edit out Oedipus, therefore this note is just a context adjustment.]. I wonder if there is a function that fathers are supposed to fulfill so that their daughters can move on. When my husband and I were going through our child custody court cases (long story, don’t judge), the child psychologist said that there are a whole host of symptoms that happen in a child if the parent leaves before age 5. I believe she is right. So if the mind says you’re too old (or he’s not worthy) for an Oedipal complex, then the heart says, fine, I’ll direct it to other men instead. Then the mind has to chaperone that pursuit. When does the heart stop doing that?

Maybe when it finds it’s rest in God. I still think that there needs to be some sort of trustworthy father figure in the flesh to put the 5 year old heart to rest. I don’t want to specify what sort of person that needs to be because I don’t want to make it about me. And I don’t want to make it relative either, INTJ that I am.

If the process involves a 12 year old mind taking custody of a 5 year old heart in the same person, and this has been the pattern for 34 years, there is probably a set of symptoms going along with it.

1. The mind believes that the heart (and the body for that matter) will be neglected if it lets go. Letting go of it’s own heart does not seem to be an option. The body is another matter. The mind is hobbled (tethered, Webster: 1. Walk in an awkward way, typically because of pain from an injury. 2. Proceed haltingly in action or speech.) to the heart, and it looks to the body for help. You go and provide food, shelter, and clothing for us all.

2. Although the mind can learn from new environments and new experiences, it was underdeveloped when it took over. Perhaps it remains gooey in the center. But it was the most qualified at the time, and is hard to replace since there are only 2-4% (see above M-B link) of the population like it, and the heart and body don’t trust other types, some of which also have the same percentage in the population. I wonder if certain types are more likely to take the test.

3. The mind is not a dictator. It likes the heart and lets it come out to play from time to time if there are no predators around. Especially with music. That is an activity they mostly do together on the piano. When they are alone or with only one or two of a handful of people deemed safe, the mind leaves the room and quits chaperoning. It needs a break. Sometimes in public the heart runs away and starts acting like a 5 year old with an Oedipal complex. The mind has to chase it down and cover it back up. The heart sometimes screams too loud and then everyone knows. That’s when the mind has to make the body take them out.

Gotta go.

