“If the command to love one’s neighbour were expressed in a way different than the little phrase as yourself, which is so easy to wield and yet at the same time has the tension of the eternal, then the command would not be able to master self-love in this way.” (Works of Love, Soren Kierkegaard, Harper Perennial Modern Thought, p. 34)

His description reminds me of two opposing mirrors re-reflecting an image into eternity. Or the rapid movement of a perpetually bouncing ball between two close sides of a box.

I love you, I love me, I love you, I love me…

Or, I love to be loved the way I am loving you.

Or, I love to be loved the way I love to be loved, so I am going to love you the way you love to be loved.

Or, since neither of us loves to be loved the right way, I will lovingly give you what you do not love, hoping for the same in return.

Or, since neither of us loves to be loved the right way, I will lovingly withhold love from you, hoping for the same in return, until one or both of us knows what true loving is.

Or, I love what I do not love because it makes me love you better, which makes me love me better.

Or, I do not love what I love, neither do I love what you love, if it is not God who gives it, until he stops.

