I’ve had two thoughts in my head that want to be written down. The first is about second fiddles. These are the horses that go out with the thoroughbreds on race day, similarly, the designated stable mates to injured horses, and the Heidi’s to Clara’s, etc. I’ve also been reading about the controversy regarding who was the second fiddle in the Sybil story.

Not all caregivers are second fiddles. Many garner more respect than the ones they are helping. What would it be like to want to be a true second fiddle. I don’t think they would go around saying, “I am second” because that is self-promotion. They don’t have the ego that needs to be promoted. They promote others, but not out of a sense of it making them successful, which would be vicarious success, which is indirect self-promotion.

Conversely, they are not fatalistic like Eeyore. “Of course I don’t deserve to be first.” That is more like suicide. I don’t think they think about placement at all. I think they must just like doing. Once results enter the mind, placement takes over. The second horse just responds to someone else’s direction. “Oh, it’s time to walk now.” They are simple.

The other thought is about personification of objects. Let’s see if I can remember the three I counted over the weekend. The first two were during the reading from Ezekiel when he was told to prophesy to the bones in Chapter 37:

Again he said unto me, Prophesy upon these bones, and say unto them, O ye dry bones, hear the word of the Lord. Thus saith the Lord God unto these bones; Behold, I will cause breath to enter into you, and ye shall live: And I will lay sinews upon you, and will bring up flesh upon you, and cover you with skin, and put breath in you, and ye shall live; and ye shall know that I am the Lord.

and to the wind: Then said he unto me, Prophesy unto the wind, prophesy, son of man, and say to the wind, Thus saith the Lord God; Come from the four winds, O breath, and breathe upon these slain, that they may live.

Shoot, I don’t remember the third. Oh, remember you brain. Ye winds, whisper into these ears!

[Tangent]: If creation is not God’s offspring, what does it mean to speak to it? Is creation God’s servant? Not all of it, unless one is a Calvinist. Just the things that do his will.

Judas did his will.

But he was not blessed.

Are things that do his will with blessings children of God?

It sounds kind of silly to say that the wind is a child of God.

But if it carries his words, it is a messenger of his.

Syllogically then, angels would be children of God.

If they are not, then one does not have to be a child of God to be in His kingdom.

Yes, rocks can cry out and praise Him. So it is only the dialectically challenged who think it is an all or nothing thing to be a child of God.

If one bases all of their self-esteem on being a child of God, then one, they could be deluded, and two, they could be proud. It is best to be as the prodigal and say, “Maybe he will let me be a servant in his house.”

Or, “I want to be an obedient bone.” [/tangent]

Still can’t think of the third thing, but I would like to practice talking to inanimate objects.

