Here are three statements that are used to express acquiescence to another person’s will, with differences.

1. Whatever. This term shows the most negative of the three relationships typified by each statement. It can easily be said while walking away from the other person in order to let that person have their objectionable way.

2. Not my will but thine be done. While more respectful and humble than whatever, it still shows objection. This person will stay with the other person and do their bidding, but it will be painful. They wish it could be otherwise.

3. As you wish. This person is happily devoted to the other person, and has no commitment to outcomes, only to the other person. What is being asked is immaterial and lightly and deftly obeyed, even if the sayer would never have thought of it on his or her own.

Additionally, I am thinking of going back to my other, more established blog, Words, at bloggingsbetter.wordpress.com. I think I may have accomplished what I first set out to do with this one during the Nativity Fast last year. The title, “Words” is shortened from Hamlet’s “words, words, words.”

I wish Branagh’s “words, words, words”

could have been delivered more like Olivier’s “to be or not to be”

I love the ’40’s style.

